Caleb Williams wins coveted Heisman Trophy, gives USC most winners in award history

Mandatory Credit: Photo by Eduardo Munoz Alvarez/AP/Shutterstock (13660548k) The Heisman Trophy is seen during an NCAA college football news conference before the award ceremony, in New York Heisman Trophy Football, New York, United States – 10 Dec 2022

Caleb Williams wins coveted Heisman Trophy, gives USC most winners in award history

USC’s Caleb Williams takes home the prestigious Heisman Trophy after receiving 544 first-place votes. He became the first USC Heisman Trophy winner since 2005 when Reggie Bush took home the prize. Matt Leinart won the award in the previous year as well. This gives the Trojans the most Heisman winners in college football history.

Caleb Williams led USC to a massive season where it seemed only Utah could take down the Trojans. He completed 66.1% of his throws for 4,075 yards with 37 touchdowns and four interceptions. He also ran for 10 touchdowns leading one of the most potent offenses in the country. Williams came over for his first season at USC after transferring from Oklahoma, where he would join his head coach Lincoln Riley on the west coast.

As for the other finalists, they each led remarkable campaigns this past season, and as Williams jokingly said on stage, they each get to go to the College Football Playoffs as an even trade.

C.J. Stroud led a near-perfect season for the Buckeyes leading them to a College Football Playoff berth where their only loss came at the hands of No. 2 Michigan. Stroud completed 66.2% of his throws for 3,340 yards with 37 touchdowns and six interceptions. He put together a massively productive season, mostly without his projected top receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba.

Stetson Bennett was the field general of the top team in the country, leading Georgia to a dominating season. Their success was highlighted by an SEC conference championship and a top seed in the College Football Playoff. Bennett finished the season completing 67.9% of his passes for 3,425 yards with 20 touchdowns and six interceptions. He also contributed seven rushing touchdowns as a traditional quarterback.

Max Duggan delivered a phenomenal season for the Horned Frogs leading TCU to a College Football Playoff appearance. TCU was the favorite in the Big 12 for most of the season before dropping a close game in the Big 12 championship. Duggan led the way, completing 64.9% of his passes for 3,321 yards with 30 touchdowns and just four interceptions. He ran for six touchdowns to go along with his passing production.

Williams, the sixth sophomore to win the Heisman, received 168 second-place votes and 63 third-place votes, along with the 544 first-place votes for 2,031 total points. TCU senior quarterback Max Duggan was the runner-up with 188 first-place votes and 1,420 total points. Ohio State junior quarterback C.J. Stroud, 37 first-place votes and 539 points, finished third, followed by Georgia senior quarterback Stetson Bennett 36 first-place votes, 349 points.

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *