Nov 19, 2017; Houston, TX, USA; Houston Texans former player Andre Johnson speaks to the media prior to the game against the Arizona Cardinals at NRG Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

John McClain: Andre Johnson is an HOF finalist once again

For the second consecutive year, former Texans receiver Andre Johnson is a finalist for election into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame announced the 15 finalists on Jan. 4 on the NFL Network. The 48-member selection committee’s results will be disclosed on Feb. 9 on the NFL Honors show at Super Bowl LVII. It’ll be carried by NBC, NFL Network, and Peacock.

For the second consecutive year, Johnson is one of three finalists who played wide receiver, joining Reggie Wayne and Torry Holt. Devin Hester is listed as a wide receiver, but if he’s elected to the Hall of Fame, it’ll be because he’s the greatest return specialist in NFL history.

Other offensive finalists are tackles Joe Thomas and Willie Anderson. Thomas, who played his entire career at Cleveland, is expected to be a lock in his first year of eligibility.

The other nine finalists are all defensive players: edge rusher DeMarcus Ware, end Dwight Freeney, end Jared Allen, linebacker Zach Thomas, linebacker Patrick Willis, safety Darren Woodson, cornerback Darrelle Revis, cornerback Albert Lewis, and cornerback Ronde Barber. Like Thomas, Revis is expected to be inducted in his first year of eligibility.

As many as five modern-era finalists can be voted into the Hall of Fame. There are four other finalists, including linebacker Chuck Howley, defensive tackle Joe Klecko and cornerback Ken Riley – all senior candidates – and Don Coryell as the coach/contributor finalist.

In Johnson’s first year of eligibility, he made the cut from 15 to 10 but did not make the next reduction that would have earned him a spot in the Class of 2022. No first-time eligible candidates were voted into the Hall of Fame last year.

Johnson, drafted third overall in 2003, played 14 seasons, including his first 12 with the Texans. Johnson and Texans founder Bob McNair are the only members of the team’s Ring of Honor at NRG Stadium.

Despite playing with a multitude of quarterbacks – the best being Matt Schaub – Johnson became one of the greatest receivers in NFL history. He caught 1,062 passes for 14,185 yards and 70 touchdowns. With the Texans, he had 1,012 receptions for 13,597 yards and 64 touchdowns. He had 51 games with at least 100 yards.

Johnson was voted to seven Pro Bowls and made the All-Pro team three times. His statistics stack up favorably against receivers already inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Johnson had five seasons with at least 100 receptions. That’s one more than Jerry Rice and Marvin Harrison and two more than Cris Carter and Randy Moss. Johnson had three 1,500-yard seasons, tied for second with Harrison, one behind Rice. Johnson and Harrison had three seasons with at least 100 receptions and 1,500 yards, one more than Rice and two more than Moss, Michael Irvin, Isaac Bruce, and Calvin Johnson.

To be voted into the Hall of Fame, players must receive at least 80% of the votes. The selection committee will reduce the list from 15 to 10 and to 5. The final five almost always make the Hall of Fame.

(John McClain writes four columns a week for He can be heard Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday on Sports Radio 610 and Monday and Thursday on Texans Radio. He does three weekly Houtopia podcasts for 610. He also can be read three times a week on

Exit mobile version