Mike Krzyzewski headlines 2023 college basketball HOF class

Photo Credit: Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports

Mike Krzyzewski headlines 2023 college basketball HOF class

Retired Duke basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski was one of five people named Tuesday to the 2023 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame class, a group with a North Carolina flair.

Joining “Coach K” in the class are former Duke player and assistant coach Johnny Dawkins, North Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough, Tom Konchalski, and Herb Magee.

Krzyzewski is the winningest coach in men’s Division I basketball history with 1,202 victories, and he retired in 2022 following 42 seasons at Duke. He also was the head coach for five seasons at his alma mater, Army.

Dawkins played for Coach K and the Blue Devils from 1982-86 and was named the Naismith National Player of the Year as a senior. He was a Krzyzewski assistant from 1998-2009 before becoming head coach at Stanford. He is now the head coach at UCF.

Hansbrough was a thorn for Duke during his time at rival North Carolina from 2005-2009. The National Player of the Year in 2008, he remains the top scorer in Atlantic Coast Conference history with 2,872 points and the fourth-leading scorer in NCAA Tournament history.

Konchalski, a longtime scout who evaluated high school players for colleges, died in 2021 at age 74.

Magee spent 63 years at the Philadelphia school now known as Thomas Jefferson University, first as a player and then as a coach. He retired in 2022 as the winningest NCAA Division II men’s basketball coach of all time with 1,144 victories.

Enshrinement ceremonies will be held Aug. 30 in Chicago.

–Field Level Media

Related Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *